Goa Gajah

One of the most interesting destinations on the island of Bali is the “elephant cave” Goa Gajah. It is actually called that, but you still have to put it in quotation marks. Because probably the naming of the cave, discovered only in 1923, is a misunderstanding and has nothing to do with elephants.

Nevertheless, with its huge relief at the entrance and with its entire construction, it is an absolutely exciting event. Where is the elephant cave, what makes it tick and what else should you know for a visit? Answers to these questions are provided in the following sections.

Address and entrance fee for the elephant cave Goa Gajah

This travel destination does not have a classic postal address. These are its coordinates: South 8°31’22.98 East 115°17’16.39. Thus, it is located only about 5 kilometers from the southeastern coast of Bali. Hotels and other accommodation can be found in the larger, nearby town of Ubud in sufficient numbers. Parking for visitors is available directly at the cave. In the immediate vicinity you can get snacks and drinks very well.

Admission for adults was last 15,000 rupiah, which is slightly less than one euro. For visitors, the elephant cave Goa Gajah is open from 8 am to 6 pm.

So what is the Goa Gajah actually?

The Goa Gajah is a cave near the town of Ubud on the Indonesian island of Bali. Specifically, it is located at the village of Bedulu. It was probably built in the 9th century and is a sanctuary. The exact origins of this cave, only nowadays christened “Elephant’s Cave”, are unknown. It is believed that it served primarily as a place of prayer and spiritual meditation. However, the whole complex consists of more than just the cave, the entrance of which is decorated by a large relief. Several spring pools and fountains are also included, which are as worth seeing as the cave itself, as they are also lined with statues. And what’s more, they are also valuable in terms of cultural history, so valuable that for some time now they have been included in the UNESCO World Heritage Site count.

Not only for this reason it is one of the tourist highlights on Bali. However, this also means that it is usually quite full of interested guests. Seclusion and contemplation are no longer experienced here. Nevertheless, a visit is very worthwhile. Inside, once you have passed the demon guarding the entrance, it awaits you with all kinds of statues, some draped on altars.

What awaits visitors inside the elephant cave?

First, there is a statue of the elephant god Ganesh with his four arms, who is a son of Shiva, a Hindu deity. Further to the right, the visitor encounters three lingams representing the three manifestations of Shiva:

  • Brahma
  • Vishnu
  • Shiva

These are framed by numerous phallic symbols, which here are considered guardians of the worlds.

Since it is quite dark inside the elephant cave, it is advisable to complete your visit equipped with a flashlight. The figures on display hold many exciting details that would probably escape attention without adequate lighting. In addition to the aforementioned statues, there are also numerous representations of ancient Balinese demons, as well as several statues of Buddha. The floor plan of the interior of the elephant cave is T-shaped, with the entrance oriented exactly north-south.

What can you do in the surroundings of the elephant cave?

Not far from the entrance, as mentioned, are those three spring pools that were discovered some time after the cave itself. These probably served for the extraction of “holy” water. The pools are decorated with six ornate stone nymphs and are therefore also worth seeing, even without the aid of normal daylight.

If you are reasonably good on your feet, you can go on a hike through the nearby rice fields. Through them, a small path leads to Yeh Pelu, a so-called spring sanctuary. It includes a relief almost 30 meters long and 2 meters high, showing everyday scenes from the time of its creation. This is applied to the 14. or 15th century estimated, more details are not known. What purpose this relief had, could also not be researched so far.

At the Petanu River, which is also nearby, there are several more Buddha statues to see. Some experts suggest that a Buddhist monastery must have once existed here. However, no other remains of it have been discovered so far.

Also nearby is the temple of Pura Taman, which in turn has a lot of interesting things to offer and can perhaps be visited on the same day. Despite its high cultural value, the elephant cave is far from reaching the size of a temple complex or even a single temple.

Elephant Cave Trivia

At the time of the discovery of the cave by Dutch archaeologists in 1923, there were no elephants in Bali. In this respect, the title is probably due to a misinterpretation of the representations at its entrance. Meanwhile, some elephants actually live on Bali. However, these were brought there especially for tourist reasons, but have nothing to do with the actual history of the origin of the cave.

Remarkable is the coexistence of statues of Buddhism and Hinduism in the same place. Apparently, there used to be one in a peaceful form, which is rather rarely confirmed by similar historical constellations elsewhere.

Conclusion about a visit to the elephant cave Goa Gajah

The Goa Gajah elephant cave is a unique structure in the entire region. A strange mix of statues of deities of Hinduism and Buddhism, as well as ancient Balinese demons, create an ambience here that is perhaps unique in the world, and it is not for nothing that it is such a popular destination among visitors to the country. Since it is also very easy to reach, you should not miss a trip to this resort during your Indonesian vacation.

Goa Gajah

Eines der interessantesten Reiseziele auf der Insel Bali ist die “Elefantenhöhle” Goa Gajah. Sie heißt zwar tatsächlich so, man muss es dennoch in Anführungszeichen schreiben. Denn wahrscheinlich handelt es sich bei der Benennung der erst 1923 entdeckten Höhle um ein Missverständnis und sie hat nichts mit Elefanten zu tun.

Nichtsdestoweniger ist sie mit ihrem riesigen Relief am Eingang und mit ihrer gesamten Konstruktion ein absolut spannendes Ereignis. Wo liegt die Elefantenhöhle, was macht sie aus und was sollte man sonst noch für einen Besuch wissen? Antworten auf diese Fragen gibt es in den folgenden Abschnitten.

Adresse und Eintritt für die Elefantenhöhle Goa Gajah

Eine klassische postalische Adresse besitzt diese Reisedestination nicht. Dies sind ihre Koordinaten: Süd 8°31’22.98 Ost 115°17’16.39. Damit befindet es sich nur etwa 5 Kilometer von der südöstlichen Küste Balis entfernt. Hotels und weitere Unterkünfte findet man in der größeren, naheliegenden Stadt Ubud in ausreichender Zahl. Parkplätze für Besucher sind direkt an der Höhle vorhanden. Im direkten Umfeld kann man sich sehr gut mit Snacks und Getränken versorgen.

Der Eintritt für Erwachsene betrug zuletzt 15.000 Rupiah, was etwas weniger als einem Euro entspricht. Für Besucher geöffnet ist die Elefantenhöhle Goa Gajah von 8 Uhr bis 18 Uhr.

Was ist die Goa Gajah nun tatsächlich?

Die Goa Gajah ist eine Höhle in der Nähe der Stadt Ubud auf der indonesischen Insel Bali. Konkret befindet sie sich beim Örtchen Bedulu. Sie wurde wahrscheinlich im 9. Jahrhundert errichtet und ist ein Heiligtum. Die genauen Ursprünge dieser erst heutzutage “Elefantenhöhle” getauften Höhle sind unbekannt. Man nimmt an, dass sie vor allem als Ort des Gebetes und der spirituellen Meditation diente. Die gesamte Anlage besteht allerdings aus mehr als nur der Höhle, der Eingang von einem großen Relief verziert wird. Mehrere Quellbecken und Brunnen gehören auch dazu, die ebenso sehenswert sind wie die Höhle selbst, da auch sie von Statuen gesäumt werden. Und darüber hinaus sind sie eben auch kulturhistorisch wertvoll, so wertvoll, dass sie seit geraumer Zeit zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe zählen.

Nicht nur aus diesem Grund ist sie eines der touristischen Highlights auf Bali. Allerdings bedeutet das ebenso, dass es hier meist recht voll an interessierten Gästen ist. Abgeschiedenheit und Besinnlichkeit erlebt man hier heutzutage eher nicht mehr. Dennoch lohnt sich ein Besuch sehr. In ihrem Innern, hat man erst einmal den den Eingang bewachenden Dämon passiert, wartet sie mit allerlei Statuen auf, teilweise auf Altären drapiert.

Was erwartet die Besucher im Inneren der Elefantenhöhle?

Da wäre zunächst eine Statue des Elefantengotts Ganesh mit seinen vier Armen, der ein Sohn von Shiva ist, einer hinduistischen Gottheit. Weiter rechts stößt der Besucher auf drei Lingams, die die drei Erscheinungsformen von Shiva repräsentieren:

  • Brahma
  • Vishnu
  • Shiva

Eingefasst werden diese von zahlreichen Phallussymbolen, die hier als Wächter der Welten gelten.

Da es im Inneren der Elefantenhöhle recht dunkel ist, ist es ratsam, seinen Besuch mit einer Taschenlampe ausgerüstet zu absolvieren. Die ausgestellten Figuren bergen viele spannende Details, die der Aufmerksamkeit ohne ausreichende Beleuchtung wohl entgehen würden. Neben den genannten Statuen finden sich hier auch noch zahlreiche Darstellungen von altbalinesischen Dämonen, genauso aber auch mehrere Statuen von Buddha. Der Grundriss des Inneren der Elefantenhöhle ist T-förmig, wobei der Eingang exakt in Nord-Süd-Richtung ausgerichtet ist.

Was kann man in der Umgebung der Elefantenhöhle unternehmen?

Nicht weit vor dem Eingang finden sich wie erwähnt jene drei Quellbecken, die man erst einige Zeit nach der Höhle selbst entdeckte. Diese dienten wohl der Entnahme von “heiligem” Wasser. Die Becken sind mit sechs kunstvoll verzierten Quellnymphen aus Stein geschmückt und damit ebenfalls sehenswert, noch dazu eben auch ohne Hilfsmittel bei normalem Tageslicht.

Wer einigermaßen gut zu Fuß ist, kann sich auf eine Wanderung durch die naheliegenden Reisfelder machen. Durch diese hindurch führt ein kleiner Pfad zu Yeh Pelu, einem sogenannten Quellheiligtum. Es umfasst ein beinahe 30 Meter langes und 2 Meter hohes Relief, das Alltagsszenen aus der Zeit seiner Entstehung zeigt. Diese wird auf das 14. oder 15. Jahrhundert geschätzt, Genaueres ist dazu nicht bekannt. Welchen Zweck dieses Relief hatte, konnte bislang ebenfalls nicht erforscht werden.

Am ebenfalls in der Nähe befindlichen Fluss Petanu gibt es einige weitere Buddha-Statuen zu sehen. Manche Fachleute vermuten, dass hier einst ein buddhistisches Kloster existiert haben muss. Weitere Überreste davon hat man bislang allerdings nicht entdeckt.

Außerdem ganz in der Nähe liegt der Tempel Pura Taman, der wiederum seinerseits viel Interessantes zu bieten hat und vielleicht am selben Tag besichtigt werden kann. Die Größe einer Tempelanlage oder auch nur eines einzelnen Tempels erreicht die Elefantenhöhle nämlich trotz ihres hohen kulturellen Wertes nämlich bei Weitem nicht.

Trivia zur Elefantenhöhle

Zur Zeit der Entdeckung der Höhle durch niederländische Archäologen im Jahr 1923 gab es keine Elefanten auf Bali. Insofern ist die Titulierung wohl auf eine Fehlinterpretation der Darstellungen an ihrem Eingang zurückzuführen. Mittlerweile leben tatsächlich einige Elefanten auf Bali. Diese wurden aber aus touristischen Gründen extra dorthin verbracht, haben aber mit der eigentlichen Entstehungsgeschichte der Höhle nichts zu tun.

Bemerkenswert ist die Koexistenz von Statuen des Buddhismus und des Hinduismus an selber Stelle. Offenbar gab es früher eine solche in friedlicher Form, was andernorts eher selten durch ähnliche historische Konstellationen bestätigt wird.

Fazit zu einem Besuch der Elefantenhöhle Goa Gajah

Ein in der gesamten Region einzigartiges Bauwerk stellt die Elefantenhöhle Goa Gajah dar. Ein seltsamer Mix aus Statuen von Gottheiten des Hinduismus und Buddhismus sowie altbalinesischer Dämonen ergeben hier ein vielleicht weltweit einmaliges Ambiente, das nicht umsonst bei den Besuchern des Landes ein so beliebtes Reiseziel darstellt. Da es auch sehr gut zu erreichen ist, sollte man bei seinem Indonesien-Urlaub nicht auf einen Trip zu dieser Anlage verzichten.