Nusa Dua

nusa dua beach
Rayansharif, Nusa dua beach, CC BY-SA 3.0

Where can you find Nusa Dua?

On the Bukit peninsula in the south of Bali lies Nusa Dua. Ngurah Rai Denpasar Airport is only about thirty minutes away by car. Despite its proximity to the airport, Nusa Dua and the surrounding beaches are not affected by aircraft noise, as the town and beaches of Nusa Dua face the east side of the peninsula and the airport faces the west on the approach to Bukit.

There is a heavenly silence once you reach the area with several posh hotels.
The place is a secluded vacation world with several very luxurious hotel complexes.

Beach vacation with many activities

pantai nusa dua
Anton Ardyanto, PANTAI NUSA DUA, CC BY-SA 4.0

It’s all about water sports on the coast of Nusa Dua. A reef lies offshore and protects the beach from high waves. Swimming inside the lagoon is completely safe and ideal for beginners and children. The waves break far out in front of the reef. Surfers and divers find their territory along the reef and on the side facing the sea. There is also a possibility to try seawalking here.

With a helmet on your head, it is possible to breathe and see clearly underwater. This way corals and the colorful fish diversity become tangible without having to dive. During the rainy season from November to March, surfers look for the perfect wave here.

Snorkelers explore the reef with its underwater world and colorful creatures. Jet skiing and kiteboarding and parasailing are proposed both by the various hotels and through local providers.
For golfers, one of the most beautiful golf courses is located near the beach, the Bali National Golf Club. With a fantastic view over the well-kept course and far out over the Indian Ocean, it is a special experience to play a few balls.

In most hotels, tennis fans will also find the ideal court. Fitness centers encourage hotel guests to stay fit and active. Whether it be cardio boxing or family training, anything is possible.

Highlights and sights around and in Nusa Dua

waterblow bali
Triy Purnama, Waterblow Bali, CC BY-SA 4.0

A breathtaking natural spectacle is the Waterblow. Between two stretches of beach, on a bluff near Pantai Pandawa, lies a rock formation where the crashing waves catch in a gap and shoot upward with force as a fountain of water. During heavy swells, the waves and thus the rising fountain sometimes become too high and dangerously powerful, so that access has to be closed.

Another highlight is the Pasifika Museum. Founded by Moetaryanto and Philippe Augier, it shows about 600 paintings and sculptures from the Asian region and preferably from Indonesia.

Puja Mandala charmingly shows the diversity of values and the five main religions of Bali and their harmonious coexistence. On a promontory, the “Complex of Worship” represents that in the form of a Buddhist temple, a Hindu temple, a Catholic and a Protestant church and a mosque.

Pura Geger Dalem Bleach stands upright on a cliff. Not only the Hindu temple is a sight to see. The location is also impressive. A fantastic view of the surroundings is magnificent. The first rays of sun in the morning make the place even more fabulous.

What makes Nusa Dua so special?

museum pasifika
Museum Pasifika, Museum Pasifika, CC BY-SA 4.0

Nusa Dua is a dream place for those who are looking for a stay with a lot of tranquility coupled with sophisticated comfort and luxury. The buildings must not be higher than the palm trees surrounding them. Predominantly in the 5-star range, the hotels are set in large, inviting gardens that blend with the beach.

It is a place that consists only of hotel facilities and was built especially for tourism. To protect the well-kept grounds and the sometimes high-profile guests, Nusa Dua can only be reached in part through a guarded barrier. Extreme cleanliness is observed on the snow-white, well-screened beach.

Shopping and some evening entertainment outside the booked hotel is available at the Bali Collection. The enclosed shopping center within the Nusa Dua hotel zone invites you to stroll around with supermarkets, souvenir stores and restaurants.

Who should plan their vacation here

For all vacationers who want to enjoy peace and luxury away from tourism, Nusa Dua is a unique oasis. Luxury class hotels and an indescribably white, long sandy beach in front of a sparkling turquoise sea guarantee a heavenly vacation in complete seclusion from everyday life.

There is no contact with the local residents except in service. This only takes place again when you leave the hotel area and go on excursions around the island of the gods. Sports activities and relaxation, selected gastronomy and culinary delights determine the daily routine.

Beaches and beach quality

nusa dua beach
Tanti Ruwani, Picture Perfect morning at Nusa Dua Beach, CC BY 2.0

The beach of Nusa Dua is protected by the offshore reef. At low tide it becomes extremely wide and small pools of sea water form in the lagoon. If the water then comes back, it is perfect for bathing and undisturbed swimming all year round with 27 degrees. No current and no swell affect the calm water.

For those who do not want to retreat to the shady garden after swimming, there are sunbeds with cushions and umbrellas available in the warm sand.
The various sections of the beach can be hiked along a seven-kilometer promenade along the sea. Early risers enjoy a phenomenal sunrise here every morning.

Weblinks for further reading

Conclusion

Nusa Dua is an absolute dream destination on the island of Bali. The short transfer to the airport is a plus, along with the fantastic location. However, the island of the gods is ultimately too good to be just a beach vacation.

With a round trip in one or two days bring the Balinese culture and the beauty of the landscape as an enrichment to the vacation.

Nusa Dua

nusa dua strand
Rayansharif, Nusa dua beach, CC BY-SA 3.0

Wo finden Sie Nusa Dua?

Auf der Halbinsel Bukit im Süden von Bali liegt Nusa Dua. Der Flughafen Ngurah Rai Denpasar liegt nur etwa dreißig Minuten mit dem Auto entfernt. Trotz der Nähe zum Flughafen sind Nusa Dua und die umliegenden Strände nicht von Fluglärm betroffen, da der Ort und die Strände Nusa Dua zur Ostseite der Halbinsel hin liegen und der Airport im Westen an der Zufahrt nach Bukit.

Es herrscht eine himmlische Ruhe, sobald der Bereich mit mehreren noblen Hotels erreicht ist.
Der Ort ist eine für sich abgegrenzte Urlaubswelt mit mehreren sehr luxuriösen Hotelanlagen.

Strandurlaub mit vielen Aktivitäten

pantai nusa dua
Anton Ardyanto, PANTAI NUSA DUA, CC BY-SA 4.0

Es dreht sich alles um Wassersport an der Küste von Nusa Dua. Ein Riff liegt vorgelagert und schützt den Strand vor hohen Wellen. Das Baden innerhalb der Lagune ist völlig ungefährlich und ideal für Schwimmanfänger und Kinder. Die Wellen brechen vor dem Riff weit draußen. Surfer und Taucher finden ihr Revier entlang dem Riff und auf der dem Meer zugewandten Seite. Es gibt hier auch die Möglichkeit, einmal Seawalking zu testen.

Mit einem Helm auf dem Kopf ist es möglich, unter Wasser zu atmen und klar zu sehen. So werden Korallen und die bunte Fischvielfalt ohne Tauchen zu müssen, greifbar. In der Regenzeit von November bis März suchen hier die Surfer die perfekte Welle.

Schnorchler erkunden das Riff mit seiner Unterwasserwelt und den bunten Lebewesen. Jetski und Kiten und Parasailing werden sowohl von den diversen Hotels als auch über lokale Anbieter vorgeschlagen.
Für Golfer liegt einer der schönsten Golfplätze in Strandnähe, der Bali National Golfclub. Mit einem fantastischen Blick über den gepflegten Platz und weit hinaus über den Indischen Ozean ist es ein besonderes Erlebnis, ein paar Bälle zu spielen.

In den meisten Hotels finden auch Anhänger von Tennis den optimalen Court. Fitnesscenter animieren die Hotelgäste, fit und aktiv zu bleiben. Ob es Cardio-Boxen oder Familientraining sein soll, alles ist möglich.

Highlights und Sehenswürdigkeiten rund um und in Nusa Dua

waterblow bali
Triy Purnama, Waterblow Bali, CC BY-SA 4.0

Ein atemberaubendes Naturspektakel ist das Waterblow. Zwischen zwei Strandabschnitten liegt an einer Steilkippe bei Pantai Pandawa eine Felsformation, an der sich in einer Lücke die aufprallenden Wellen fangen und mit Wucht als Wasser-Fontäne nach oben schießen. Bei starkem Seegang werden die Wellen und damit die emporschießende Fontäne teilweise zu hoch und gefährlich kräftig, sodass der Zugang gesperrt werden muss.

Ein weiteres Highlight ist das Pasifika-Museum. Von Moetaryanto und Philippe Augier gegründet, zeigt es circa 600 Gemälde und Skulpturen aus dem asiatischen Raum und vorzugsweise aus Indonesien.

Puja Mandala zeigt auf reizvolle Weise die Vielfalt der Werte und die fünf Hauptreligionen Balis und ihr harmonisches Zusammenleben. Auf einer Landzunge repräsentiert der “Komplex der Anbetung” das in Form eines buddhistischen Tempels, eines hinduistischen Tempels, einer katholischen und einer evangelischen Kirche und einer Moschee.

Pura Geger Dalem Bleach steht aufrecht auf einer Felsklippe. Nicht nur der Hindu-Tempel ist eine Sehenswürdigkeit. Auch die Lage ist beeindruckend. Ein fantastischer Blick auf die Umgebung ist grandios. Die ersten Sonnenstrahlen am Morgen machen den Ort noch märchenhafter.

Was macht Nusa Dua so besonders?

museum pasifika
Museum Pasifika, Museum Pasifika, CC BY-SA 4.0

Nusa Dua ist ein traumhafter Ort für alle, die einen Aufenthalt mit viel Ruhe gepaart mit anspruchsvollem Komfort und Luxus suchen. Die Gebäude dürfen nicht höher sein als die sie umgebenden Palmen. Überwiegend im 5-Sterne-Bereich liegen die Hotels in großen, einladenden Gartenanlagen, die mit dem Strand verschmelzen.

Es ist ein Ort, der nur aus Hotelanlagen besteht und extra für den Tourismus gebaut wurde. Zum Schutz der gepflegten Anlagen und der zum Teil hochkarätigen Gäste ist Nusa Dua zum Teil nur durch eine bewachte Schranke zu erreichen. Am schneeweißen, gut beschirmten Strand wird auf extreme Sauberkeit geachtet.

Shopping und etwas Abendunterhaltung außerhalb des gebuchten Hotels gibt es im Bali Collection. Das umzäuntes Einkaufscenter innerhalb der Nusa Dua Hotelzone lädt mit Supermärkten, Souvenirshops und Restaurants zum Bummeln ein.

Wer sollte hier seinen Urlaub planen

Für alle Urlauber, die abseits von Tourismus Ruhe und Luxus genießen wollen, ist Nusa Dua eine einzigartige Oase. Hotels der Luxusklasse und ein unbeschreiblich weißer, langer Sandstrand vor einem türkis glitzernden Meer garantieren einen himmlischen Urlaub in völliger Abgeschiedenheit vom Alltag.

Mit den einheimischen Bewohnern gibt es außer im Service keinen Kontakt. Der findet erst wieder statt, wenn man den Hotelbereich verlässt und Ausflüge über die Insel der Götter unternimmt. Sportliche Aktivitäten und Relaxen, ausgesuchte Gastronomie und Kulinarik bestimmen den Tagesablauf.

Strände und Strandqualität

nusa dua beach
Tanti Ruwani, Picture Perfect morning at Nusa Dua Beach, CC BY 2.0

Der Strand von Nusa Dua wird durch das vorgelagerte Riff geschützt. Bei Ebbe wird er extrem breit und in der Lagune bilden sich kleine Tümpel mit Meerwasser. Kommt das Wasser dann zurück, ist es mit 27 Grad das gesamte Jahr hindurch perfekt zum Baden und ungestörten Schwimmen. Keine Strömung und kein Wellengang beeinträchtigen das ruhige Wasser.

Für alle, die sich nach dem Baden nicht in die schattige Gartenanlage zurückziehen wollen, stehen im warmen Sand Liegen mit Auflagen und Sonnenschirme zur Verfügung.
Die verschiedenen Strandabschnitte können über eine sieben Kilometer lange Promenade am Meer entlang erwandert werden. Frühaufsteher genießen hier an jedem Morgen einen phänomenalen Sonnenaufgang.

Weblinks zum Weiterlesen

Fazit

Nusa Dua ist ein absolutes Traumziel auf der Insel Bali. Der kurze Transfer zum Flughafen ist neben der fantastischen Lage ein Pluspunkt. Die Insel der Götter ist aber letztendlich zu schade, um nur Strandurlaub zu machen.

Mit einer Rundreise an einem oder an zwei Tagen bringen die balinesische Kultur und die Schönheit der Landschaft als Bereicherung in den Urlaub.