Denpasar

denpasar
trezy humanoiz from Denpasar, indonesia, Aerial view of Bajra Sandhi Monument Denpasar Bali Indonesia, CC BY 2.0

In the south of Bali lies Denpasar, capital since 1958 and also the largest city on the island. In Balinese, the name Denpasar means something like “new market”, which may be understood as a reference to the density of colorful markets in the city. The city, which now has more than 600,000 inhabitants, is also home to modern administrative buildings and around a dozen shopping centers and malls.

In addition to the three main markets, Badung, Kreneng and Sanglah, there are numerous specialized shopping streets where fabric dealers, jewelers and fruit stands offer their wares. Among the most famous sights are magnificent palaces, countless Hindu temples and historical monuments. Denpasar is considered the gateway to Bali and is an important starting point for round trips.

What activities are available in Denpasar?

You can get a first impression of the capital of Bali and the way of life of the locals by strolling through the markets.

The Pasar Badung Market

pasar bathung
Christophe95, Pasar Badung Baru 1, CC BY-SA 4.0

Denpasar’s largest market is open daily and is located about one kilometer from the city center. Offered is a wide selection of fabrics, clothing, housewares, crafts and accessories.

The four-story building, which houses the Pasar Badung Market, is built in traditional Balinese architecture.

Shark Island Serangan

On Serangan Island, also known as Shark Island or Shark Island, sharks can be observed and fed in a guarded environment during ecotours lasting several hours. There is also the possibility to visit the adjacent Turtle Conservation and Education Center for reptiles.

Ngurah Rai Mangrove Forest

The Ngurah Rai mangrove forest is considered a model of mangrove rehabilitation and a model for other provinces in Indonesia. Nursery land for educational and conservation purposes is cultivated on an area of 1,373.05 hectares.

In the huge mangrove forest there are about 13 different species of mangroves and 28 species of associated mangroves. About 62 species of birds and 10 species of reptiles have found a new natural habitat in the Ngurah Rai mangrove forest.

The most important sights in Denpasar

Pura Jagatnatha Temple

Pura Jagatnatha
Photo by CEphoto, Uwe Aranas or alternatively © CEphoto, Uwe Aranas, Kuta Bali Indonesia Pura-Jagatnatha-03, CC BY-SA 3.0

Pura Jagatnatha Temple is dedicated to the deity Sanghyang Widi and is one of the most important shrines in Indonesia. The walls of the largest temple in Denpasar are made of white coral and the wall surfaces are painted with traditional stories and religious scenes of the god Sanghyang Widi and other gods of the Hindu religion.

At Pura Jagatnatha Temple, two major festivals, the Full Moon and New Moon festivals, are celebrated every month. Visitors have the opportunity to watch the ceremonies or participate in the activities.

Puputan Square

puputan place denpasar
David Stanley from Nanaimo, Canada, Puputan Square (6337598676), CC BY 2.0

Puputan Square reflects the history of the city. The large green area in the center of Denpasar is located near the place where once stood one of the most magnificent palaces of Bali. During the Dutch conquest in 1906, a mass suicide occurred in the square, killing about 4,000 Balinese, including the royal family.

The Puputan monument shows a man, a woman and two children bravely resisting the conquerors. Today, Puputan Square and the surrounding park are popular places to relax from the hustle and bustle of the big city.

Negeri Propinsi Museum

Opened in 1932, the Negeri Propinsi Museum of Ethnology and Natural History offers an overview of Balinese art and architecture. The collection displayed there consists of more than 10,000 exhibits. On display are, among other things, historical and cultural artifacts of the island, valuable textiles, dance costumes, masks, everyday as well as ceremonial objects from different eras from early times to the present.

The building that houses the Negeri Propinsi Museum is built in the style of Balinese architecture and is completely decorated with stone carvings. In the adjacent tropical garden there are many statues that remind of art and history of the island.

St. Joseph’s Church

St. Joseph’s Catholic Church combines Christian and Balinese style elements. Built in 1936 in Hindu style, the church is recognizable as a church by the white cross on the spire. Church services are held regularly in the church known by locals as Gereja Sang Yoseph.

Bajra Sandhi Monument

In the heart of Denpasar is the Bajra Sandhi Monument, dedicated to the struggle of the Balinese against the foreign rule of the colonial masters. Built in 1987, the monument aims to represent the various cultural aspects of Bali and preserve the unique Balinese culture for future generations.

Local features in Denpasar

dari samping denpasar
YOHANES, KATEDRAL DENPASAR DARI SAMPING, CC BY-SA 4.0

In the capital of Bali there are a variety of markets. It is common to negotiate prices when shopping. Haggling may be unfamiliar to the Western mentality, but it is part of everyday life in Indonesia.

The warmest month in Denpasar is January. During this period, daytime temperatures are around 28 to 30 degrees Celsius, while in July the maximum is 25 or 26 degrees.

Denpasar is the venue for numerous festivals. The most important event is the Bali Arts Festival, which is held annually in June and is the biggest cultural event of the year in Bali.

Who is Denpasar suitable for?

A stay in Denpasar is especially suitable for travelers interested in art, culture and history. Those who want to experience the local atmosphere, discover colorful Asian markets and stroll through tropical parks are also in good hands here.

Near the Balinese capital are numerous interesting destinations as well as beautiful beaches. Therefore, Denpasar is considered the perfect location to discover the island.

The most beautiful beaches around Denpasar

Three world-famous beaches are within easy reach of Denpasar.

Kuta Beach

kuta beach
Herryz, The View of Kuta Beach, Bali, CC BY-SA 4.0

Kuta is Bali’s largest resort and is known for its eponymous five-kilometer-long bright white sand beach and perfect surfing conditions. On Kuta Beach there are numerous restaurants, clubs and stores.

Sanur Beach

Sanur Beach was among the first beaches in Bali to offer beach services, dining and shopping. An offshore coral reef protects the approximately three-kilometer-long white sand beach from high waves and undercurrents.

Unlike other beaches in Bali, Sanur beach is also suitable for swimming, for non-swimmers as well as for families with children. Since the water recedes at low tide, swimming is only possible at high tide.

Seminyak Beach

Seminyak Beach
Christophe95, Seminyak Beach 02, CC BY-SA 4.0

Seminyak Beach is about 1.5 kilometers long. At low tide, the beach, consisting of fine sand, reaches a width of more than 100 meters. Due to the often high waves, swimming is only possible to a limited extent. Surfers will find ideal conditions here. For miles of beach walks, Seminyak beach is excellent.

Weblinks for further reading

More information about Denpasar can be found on the Internet and on the following websites:

Conclusion

Denpasar is mentioned only briefly in many travel guides, but the capital of the island of Bali is still worth a visit. At least one day should be planned to explore the city with its numerous markets, temples, museums and parks.

The city of Denpasar is easily accessible from the beach resorts in the south of Bali and is a great destination for a day trip.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Denpasar

>> 🇩🇪 Jetzt deutschsprachige Tour anfragen

Seminyak Beach
Christophe95, Seminyak Beach 02, CC BY-SA 4.0
denpasar
trezy humanoiz from Denpasar, indonesia, Aerial view of Bajra Sandhi Monument Denpasar Bali Indonesia, CC BY 2.0

Im Süden von Bali liegt Denpasar, seit dem Jahr 1958 Hauptstadt und zugleich größte Stadt der Insel. Im Balinesischen bedeutet der Name Denpasar etwa „neuer Markt“, was als Hinweis auf die Dichte an bunten Märkten in der Stadt verstanden werden darf. In der mittlerweile mehr als 600.000 Einwohner zählenden Großstadt findet man auch moderne Verwaltungsgebäude sowie rund ein Dutzend Shopping-Center und Malls.

Neben den drei wichtigsten Märkten Badung, Kreneng und Sanglah gibt es im zahlreiche spezialisierte Einkaufsstraßen, in denen Stoffhändler, Juweliere und Obststände ihre Waren anbieten. Zu den bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten zählen prachtvolle Paläste, unzählige Hindu-Tempel und historische Denkmäler. Denpasar gilt als das Tor zu Bali und ist ein wichtiger Ausgangspunkt für Rundreisen.

Welche Aktivitäten bieten sich in Denpasar an?

Einen ersten Eindruck von der Hauptstadt Balis und der Lebensweise der Einheimischen bekommt man bei einem Bummel über die Märkte.

Der Pasar-Badung-Markt

pasar badung
Christophe95, Pasar Badung Baru 1, CC BY-SA 4.0

Der größte Markt von Denpasar ist täglich geöffnet und befindet sich etwa einen Kilometer vom Stadtzentrum entfernt. Angeboten wird eine große Auswahl an Stoffen, Bekleidung, Haushaltswaren, Kunsthandwerk und Accessoires.

Das vierstöckige Gebäude, in dem sich der Pasar-Badung-Markt befindet, ist in traditioneller balinesischer Architektur erbaut.

Haifischinsel Serangan

Auf der Insel Serangan, die auch als Shark Island oder Haifischinsel bezeichnet wird, können im Rahmen mehrstündiger Ökotouren Haie in einer bewachten Umgebung beobachtet und gefüttert werden. Außerdem besteht die Möglichkeit, das angrenzende Schildkrötenschutz- und Erziehungszentrum für Reptilien zu besuchen.

Ngurah Rai Mangrovenwald

Der Ngurah Rai Mangrovenwald gilt als Modell der Mangrovensanierung und Vorbild für andere Provinzen Indonesiens. Auf einer Fläche von 1.373,05 Hektar werden Baumschulflächen für Bildungs- und Naturschutzzwecke kultiviert.

Im riesigen Mangrovenwald sind circa 13 verschiedene Mangroven-Arten sowie 28 Arten assoziierter Mangroven zu sehen. Etwa 62 Arten von Vögeln und 10 Reptilienarten haben im Ngurah Rai Mangrovenwald einen neuen natürlichen Lebensraum gefunden.

Die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Denpasar

Pura Jagatnatha Tempel

Pura Jagatnatha
Photo by CEphoto, Uwe Aranas or alternatively © CEphoto, Uwe Aranas, Kuta Bali Indonesia Pura-Jagatnatha-03, CC BY-SA 3.0

Der Pura Jagatnatha Tempel ist der Gottheit Sanghyang Widi geweiht und ist eines der bedeutendsten Heiligtümer Indonesiens. Die Wände des größten Tempels in Denpasar bestehen aus weißen Korallen und die Wandflächen sind mit traditionellen Geschichten und religiösen Szenen des Gottes Sanghyang Widi und anderen Göttern der hinduistischen Religion bemalt.

Im Pura Jagatnatha Tempel werden jeden Monat zwei große Feste, das Vollmond- und das Neumond-Fest, gefeiert. Besucher haben die Möglichkeit, bei den Zeremonien zuzuschauen oder sich an den Aktivitäten zu beteiligen.

Puputan-Platz

puputan platz denpasar
David Stanley from Nanaimo, Canada, Puputan Square (6337598676), CC BY 2.0

Der Puputan-Platz spiegelt die Geschichte der Stadt wider. Die große Grünfläche mitten im Zentrum von Denpasar befindet sich in der Nähe des Ortes, an der früher einer der prächtigsten Paläste Balis stand. Während der Eroberung durch die Niederländer im Jahr 1906 kam es auf dem Platz zu einem Massenselbstmord, bei dem etwa 4.000 Balinesen, die Königsfamilie eingeschlossen, starben.

Das Puputan-Denkmal zeigt einen Mann, eine Frau und zwei Kinder, die sich tapfer gegen die Eroberer wehren. Heute sind der Puputan-Platz und der umliegende Park beliebte Orte, um sich von der Hektik der Großstadt zu erholen.

Negeri Propinsi Museum

Das 1932 eröffnete Völker- und Naturkundemuseum Negeri Propinsi bietet einen Überblick über die balinesische Kunst und Architektur. Die dort gezeigte Sammlung besteht aus mehr als 10.000 Ausstellungsstücken. Zu sehen sind unter anderem historische und kulturelle Artefakte der Insel, wertvolle Textilien, Tanzkostüme, Masken, Alltags- sowie Zeremoniengegenstände aus verschiedenen Epochen von der Frühzeit bis zur Gegenwart.

Das Gebäude, in dem sich das Negeri Propinsi Museum befindet, ist im Stil balinesischer Architektur errichtet und komplett mit Steinschnitzereien verziert. Im angrenzenden tropischen Garten befinden sich viele Statuen, die an Kunst und Geschichte der Insel erinnern.

St. Josephs Kirche

Die katholische St. Josephs Kirche verbindet christliche und balinesische Stilelemente miteinander. Das im Jahr 1936 im hinduistischen Stil erbaute Gotteshaus ist durch das weiße Kreuz auf der Turmspitze als Kirche erkennbar. In der von Einheimischen als Gereja Sang Yoseph bezeichneten Kirche finden regelmäßig Gottesdienste statt.

Bajra-Sandhi-Monument

Im Herzen von Denpasar befindet sich das Bajra-Sandhi-Monument, das dem Kampf der Balinesen gegen die Fremdherrschaft der Kolonialherren gewidmet ist. Durch das 1987 erbaute Monument sollen die verschiedenen kulturellen Aspekte von Bali dargestellt und die einzigartige balinesische Kultur für zukünftige Generationen bewahrt werden.

Lokale Besonderheiten in Denpasar

dari samping denpasar
YOHANES, KATEDRAL DENPASAR DARI SAMPING, CC BY-SA 4.0

In der Hauptstadt von Bali gibt es eine Vielzahl von Märkten. Es ist üblich, beim Einkaufen über die Preise zu verhandeln. Das Feilschen mag für die westliche Mentalität ungewohnt sein, gehört jedoch in Indonesien zum Alltag.

Der wärmste Monat in Denpasar ist der Januar. Während dieser Zeit betragen die Tagestemperaturen etwa 28 bis 30 Grad Celsius, während im Juli maximal 25 oder 26 Grad erreicht werden.

Denpasar ist Schauplatz zahlreicher Festivals. Die bedeutendste Veranstaltung ist das Bali Arts Festival, das alljährlich im Juni stattfindet und das größte kulturelle Ereignis des Jahres auf Bali ist.

Für wen eignet sich Denpasar?

Ein Aufenthalt in Denpasar eignet sich insbesondere für Reisende, die sich für Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte interessieren. Wer die lokale Atmosphäre erleben, bunte asiatische Märkte entdecken und durch tropische Parkanlagen spazieren möchte, ist hier ebenfalls gut aufgehoben.

In der Nähe der balinesischen Hauptstadt liegen zahlreiche interessante Ausflugsziele sowie schöne Strände. Daher gilt Denpasar als perfekter Standort, um die Insel zu entdecken.

Die schönsten Strände in der Umgebung von Denpasar

Drei weltbekannte Strände sind von Denpasar aus leicht zu erreichen.

Kuta Beach

kuta beach
Herryz, The View of Kuta Beach, Bali, CC BY-SA 4.0

Kuta ist Balis größter Urlaubsort und für seinen gleichnamigen, fünf Kilometer langen strahlendweißen Sandstrand und perfekte Surfbedingungen bekannt. Am Kuta Beach gibt es zahlreiche Restaurants, Klubs und Geschäfte.

Sanur Beach

Der Sanur-Strand gehörte zu den ersten Stränden auf Bali, die Strandservice, Gastronomie und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten anboten. Ein vorgelagertes Korallenriff schützt den rund drei Kilometer langen, weißen Sandstrand vor hohen Wellen und Unterströmungen.

Im Unterschied zu anderen Stränden auf Bali ist der Sanur-Strand auch zum Baden, für Nichtschwimmer sowie für Familien mit Kindern geeignet. Da sich das Wasser bei Ebbe zurückzieht, ist Schwimmen nur bei Flut möglich.

Seminyak Beach

Seminyak Beach
Christophe95, Seminyak Beach 02, CC BY-SA 4.0

Etwa 1,5 Kilometer lang ist der Seminyak-Beach. Bei Ebbe erreicht der aus feinem Sand bestehende Strand eine Breite von mehr als 100 Metern. Bedingt durch die oftmals hohen Wellen ist das Baden nur begrenzt möglich. Surfer finden hier ideale Bedingungen vor. Für kilometerlange Strandspaziergänge ist der Seminyak-Strand ausgezeichnet geeignet.

Weblinks zum Weiterlesen

Weitere Informationen über Denpasar finden sich im Internet sowie auf folgenden Webseiten:

Fazit

Denpasar wird zwar in vielen Reiseführern nur kurz erwähnt, dennoch ist die Hauptstadt der Insel Bali einen Besuch wert. Zur Erkundung der Stadt mit ihren zahlreichen Märkten, Tempeln, Museen und Parkanlagen sollte mindestens ein Tag eingeplant werden.

Die Stadt Denpasar ist von den Badeorten im Süden Balis leicht erreichbar und bietet sich als Ziel für einen Tagesausflug an.


Jetzt deutschsprachige Tour buchen

Bitte aktiviere JavaScript in deinem Browser, um dieses Formular fertigzustellen.
Gewählter Wert: 0
Für welche Tour interessieren Sie sich:

Wichtig: Preise sind u.a. abhängig vom Abholort, der Tour und der Gruppengröße.
Details bespricht Donny dann direkt mit Ihnen.



Hinterlasse jetzt einen Kommentar

Kommentar hinterlassen