Nusa Lembongan

nusa lembongan
Rizqi Djamaluddin, Nusa Lembongan (134158337), CC BY-SA 3.0

Location of Nusa Lembongan – small island off the southeast coast and belonging to Bali

Nusa Lembongan is located off the southeast coast of Bali towards Australia. Together with the larger neighboring island Nusa Penida and the smaller Nusa Ceningan, Nusa Lembongan belongs administratively to Bali and forms with them the district Klungkung.

The island with its approximately 5,000 inhabitants is located in the strait of the Lombok Strait between the Indian Ocean and the Bali Sea.

Across the road from Bandung only 12 km from Bali

In total, Nusa Lembongan is only eight square kilometers in size and 12 kilometers from Bali via the Badung Strait.

The connection to the small neighboring island of Nusa Ceningan via the very shallow and hardly navigable channel is ensured by a suspension bridge passable for two-wheelers and pedestrians, but not for cars.

Mangrove area in the northeast and border with Australasian fauna in the east

In the northeast, the island is bordered by an area of mangroves extending over about 12 hectares. East of Nusa Lembongan runs the natural boundary between the Indomalayan and Australasian fauna, known as the Wallace Line after the famous naturalist.

What activities are available on Nusa Lembongan? Relaxing on the beach, snorkeling and nature

nusa lembongan beach
San Andreas, Nusa Lembongan Mushroom Beach, CC BY-SA 3.0

On Nusa Lembongan, outdoor activities on the beach and in the seaare the main options for a vacation in Bali. The fine sandy, bright and in places untouched beach invites you to long walks, relax and chill.

For water sports enthusiasts, the island with its offshore coral reefs is a true snorkeler’s paradise. Snorkeling and diving is possible here individually as well as an organized snorkeling tour.

From bus tours through nature to island hopping

Those who would like to get to know the charming nature of the island can participate in organized bus tours with experienced local guides. Organized bus tours are also offered as island hopping from Nusa Lembongan to the neighboring island of Nusa Penida.

Absolute highlights and sights: From Mangrove Forest to Devil’s Point to Sunday Beach.

The absolute highlights on Nusa Lembongan are imposing places in the partly spectacular natural landscape of the island. One of the top destinations is the Mangrove Forest Nusa Lembongan in the northeast of the island.

The huge mangrove forest is a nature reserve and guided tours are possible here as well as hiking on your own, boat tours and snorkeling.

Breathtaking views and cliff jumping at Devil’s Point

nusa lembongan cliff jumping
Jimmy McIntyre – Editor HDR One Magazine, Nusa lembongan cliff (7800894188), CC BY-SA 2.0

Another absolute highlight is Devil’s Point in the northwest of the island. Perched high on a rocky outcrop, the viewpoint offers spectacular sunsets and massive frothing spray.

Amateur photographers will get their money’s worth here, and those who need an adrenaline kick can try cliff jumping at Devil’s Point. The viewpoint is considered one of the most impressive on the island. Sea turtles can also be observed here.

Have fun on the water slide at Sunday Beach

For lovers of beach activities, Sunday Beach Waterpark is one of the most attractive attractions on Nusa Lembongang.

Water slides for children and adults, a very nice beach and well-maintained restaurants make the beachfront water park a desirable destination for families, small groups and anyone who wants to have fun on the beach. Sunday Beach Water Park on the southwest side of the island is open daily from 9:30 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Local Features: Transition from Balinese to Australian natural zone and a mix of relaxed casual and variety in resorts

nusa ceningang transition
rheins, Channel between Lembongan Island and Ceningan Island – 2015.03 – panoramio, CC BY 3.0

Local features on Nusa Lembongan include the delightful transition of flora and fauna from the Balinese to the Australian natural zone.

These transitions can be experienced particularly well on guided bus tours across the island, also in conjunction with island hopping from the main island of Bali and the neighboring islands of Nusa Penida and Nusa Ceningang.

Mix of Balinese and Australian way of life

The mix of Balinese and Australian way of life among the islanders is just as characteristic of Nusa Lembongan as the overall rather quiet and relaxed to family atmosphere on the island.

Characteristic is the combination of spectacular nature, quiet ambience on the beaches and in the resorts with simultaneous opportunities for diving, surfing and snorkeling.

For whom is Nusa Lembongan suitable as a vacation destination? For those who love peace, beach and nature

Nusa Lembongan is suitable for all who want to experience“the other Baliaway from the tourist strongholds on the main island. Quiet seekers and beach fans come here just as much at their expense as amateur photographers, nature lovers and friends of water sports such as snorkeling.

Those who appreciate a relaxed and familiar ambience in the vacation accommodations are also in good hands on Nusa Lembongan.

Overnight stays on Nusa Lembongan in cozy and family resorts

nusa lembongan resort
SaraJanssen – Pixabay

Overnight stays on Nusa Lembongan are mainly concentrated in the region in the southwest of the island with its numerous very beautiful beaches. Private, manageable, family-style accommodations are often Australian-owned and offer small fine resorts and spas surrounded by lush gardens. Resorts with yoga are also available for booking.

Beaches and beach quality: Fine sandy dream beaches like Dreambeach and Mushroom Beach

The most beautiful beaches of Nusa Lembongan are concentrated on the western part of the island. Some beaches are grouped at varying distances around the Devil’s Point lookout.

One of the most beautiful beaches is Dreambeach in the southwest, just minutes from Devil’s Point. The fine sandy, spacious dream beach is considered one of the most beautiful and dreamy in the Bali region on the turquoise blue sea.

Mushroom Beach with lively tourist infrastructure as well as ferry to Bali and Nusa Penida

A special feature is the Mushroom Beach, which is also located nearby: here you can find small hotels for those seeking relaxation on the one hand and numerous bars, restaurants and stores on the other hand because of the ferries to Bali and Nusa Penida.

Info and web links about Nusa Lembongan for further reading

Conclusion – Nusa Lembongan as a nature and snorkeling paradise

Nusa Lembongan as part of a small group of islands off the southeast coast of Bali is easy to reach by ferry and offers relaxed and stress-free vacations.

Whether on a tour through the extensive mangrove forests in the northeast or relaxing on the beach and snorkeling on the west coast, the small island with its approximately 5,000 inhabitants always seems relaxed and is overall somewhat quieter in atmosphere than the main island.

Uncomplicated, family Bali with Australian influences

The influence of nearby Australia can be felt on Nusa Lembongan both in the flora and fauna and in the small, familiar and relaxed hotel facilities.

If you want to get to know the other, uncomplicated Bali, you are in good hands here. Island hopping from Bali and back as well as to the neighboring islands of Nusa Penida and Nusa Ceningan is also possible here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Nusa Lembongan

nusa lembongan
Rizqi Djamaluddin, Nusa Lembongan (134158337), CC BY-SA 3.0

Lage von Nusa Lembongan – kleine Insel vor der Südostküste und zu Bali gehörend

Nusa Lembongan liegt vor der Südostküste von Bali in Richtung Australien. Gemeinsam mit der größeren Nachbarinsel Nusa Penida und der kleineren Nusa Ceningan gehört Nusa Lembongan verwaltungstechnisch zu Bali und bildet mit ihnen den Distrikt Klungkung.

Die Insel mit ihren rund 5.000 Einwohnern liegt in der Meerenge der Lombokstraße zwischen dem Indischen Ozean und der Balisee.

Über die Straße von Bandung nur 12 km von Bali entfernt

Insgesamt ist Nusa Lembongan nur acht Quadratkilometer groß und über die Straße von Badung 12 Kilometer von Bali entfernt.

Die Verbindung zur kleinen Nachbarinsel Nusa Ceningan über den sehr flachen und kaum schiffbaren Kanal ist durch eine für Zweiräder und Fußgänger, nicht jedoch für Autos passierbare Hängebrücke gewährleistet.

Mangrovengebiet im Nordosten und Grenze zur australasiatischen Fauna im Osten

Im Nordosten wird die Insel durch ein sich über rund 12 Hektar erstreckendes Areal von Mangroven begrenzt. Östlich von Nusa Lembongan verläuft die natürliche Grenze zwischen der indomalayischen und der australasiatischen Fauna, bekannt als Wallace-Linie nach dem bekannten Naturforscher.

Welche Aktivitäten bieten sich auf Nusa Lembongan? Entspannen am Strand, Schnorcheln und Natur

nusa lembongan beach
San Andreas, Nusa Lembongan Mushroom Beach, CC BY-SA 3.0

Auf Nusa Lembongan bieten sich vor allem Outdoor-Aktivitäten am Strand und im Meer im Urlaub auf Bali an. Der feinsandige, helle und streckenweise unberührte Strand lädt zu langen Spaziergängen, Entspannen und Chillen ein.

Für Wassersport-Aktive ist die Insel mit ihren vorgelagerten Korallenriffen ein wahres Schnorchler-Paradies. Schnorcheln und Tauchen ist hier individuell ebenso möglich wie als organisierte Schnorchel-Tour.

Von Bustouren durch die Natur bis zum Insel-Hopping

Wer gerne die reizvolle Natur der Insel kennenlernen möchte, kann an organisierten Bustouren mit erfahrenen einheimische Guides teilnehmen. Angeboten werden auch organisierte Bustouren als Insel-Hopping von Nusa Lembongan zur Nachbarinsel Nusa Penida.

Absolute Highlights und Sehenswürdigkeiten: Vom Mangrove Forest über Devil´s Point bis zum Sunday Beach

Die absoluten Highlights auf Nusa Lembongan sind imposante Orte in der teilweise spektakulären Naturlandschaft der Insel. Zu den Top Zielen gehört der Mangrove Forest Nusa Lembongan im Nordosten der Insel.

Der riesige Mangrovenwald ist Naturschutzgebiet und geführte Touren sind hier ebenso möglich wie Wanderungen auf eigene Faust, Bootstouren und Schnorcheln.

Atemberaubende Ausblicke und Cliff Jumping am Devil´s Point

nusa lembongan cliff jumping
Jimmy McIntyre – Editor HDR One Magazine, Nusa lembongan cliff (7800894188), CC BY-SA 2.0

Ein weiteres absolutes Highlight ist Devil´s Point im Nordwesten der Insel. Der hoch auf einem Felsvorsprung gelegene Aussichtspunkt bietet spektakuläre Sonnenuntergänge und gewaltige aufschäumende Gischt.

Hobby-Fotografen kommen hier voll auf ihre Kosten, und wer einen Adrenalin-Kick braucht, kann sich am Devil´s Point im Cliff Jumping versuchen. Der Aussichtspunkt gilt als einer der imposantesten der Insel. Auch Meeresschildkröten lassen sich hier beobachten.

Auf der Wasserrutsche Spaß haben im Sunday Beach

Für Liebhaber von Aktivitäten am Strand zählt der Sunday Beach Waterpark zu den attraktivsten Sehenswürdigkeiten auf Nusa Lembongang.

Wasserrutschen für Kinder und Erwachsene, ein sehr schöner Strand und gepflegte Restaurants machen den Wasserpark am Strand zu einem begehrten Ziel für Familien, kleine Gruppen und alle, die am Strand Spaß haben wollen. Der Sunday Beach Water Park im Südwesten der Insel ist täglich von 9.30 Uhr bis 22 Uhr geöffnet.

Lokale Besonderheiten: Übergang von balinesischer zu australischer Naturzone und ein Mix aus entspannter Lässigkeit und Abwechslung in den Resorts

nusa ceningang übergang
rheins, Channel between Lembongan Island and Ceningan Island – 2015.03 – panoramio, CC BY 3.0

Zu den lokalen Besonderheiten auf Nusa Lembongan gehört der reizvolle Übergang der Tier- und Pflanzenwelt von der balinesischen zur australischen Naturzone.

Diese Übergänge lassen sich bei geführten Bustouren über die Insel auch in Verbindung mit Insel-Hopping von der Hauptinsel Bali und den Nachbarinseln Nusa Penida und Nusa Ceningang besonders gut erleben.

Mix aus balinesischer und australischer Lebensart

Der Mix aus balinesischer und australischer Lebensart unter den Inselbewohnern ist ebenso kennzeichnend für Nusa Lembongan wie die im Gesamtbild eher ruhige und entspannte bis familiäre Atmosphäre auf der Insel.

Charakteristisch ist die Kombination aus spektakulärer Natur, ruhigem Ambiente an den Stränden und in den Urlaubsanlagen bei gleichzeitiger Möglichkeit zu Tauchen, Surfen und Schnorcheln.

Für wen eignet sich Nusa Lembongan als Urlaubsort? Für alle die Ruhe, Strand und Natur lieben

Nusa Lembongan eignet sich für alle, die “das andere Baliabseits der Touristen-Hochburgen auf der Hauptinsel erleben möchten. Ruhesuchende und Strandfans kommen hier ebenso auf ihre Kosten wie Hobby-Fotografen, Naturliebhaber und Freunde von Wassersport wie Schnorcheln.

Auch wer ein entspanntes und familiäres Ambiente in den Ferienunterkünften schätzt, ist auf Nusa Lembongan gut aufgehoben.

Übernachtungen auf Nusa Lembongan in gemütlichen und familiären Resorts

nusa lembongan resort
SaraJanssen – Pixabay

Übernachtungen auf Nusa Lembongan konzentrieren sich hauptsächlich auf die Region im Südwesten der Insel mit ihren zahlreichen sehr schönen Stränden. Die privat, überschaubar und familiär wirkenden Unterkünfte sind häufig in australischer Hand und bieten kleine feine Resorts und Spas, umgeben von üppigen Gärten. Zu buchen sind auch Resorts mit Yoga.

Strände und Strandqualität: Feinsandige Traumstände wie Dreambeach und Mushroom Beach

Die schönsten Strände von Nusa Lembongan konzentrieren sich auf den westlichen Teil der Insel. Einige Strände gruppieren sich in unterschiedlichen Entfernungen um den Aussichtspunkt Devil´s Point.

Einer der schönsten Strände ist der Dreambeach im Südwesten, nur wenige Minuten von Devil´s Point entfernt. Der feinsandige, weitläufige Traumstrand gilt als einer der schönsten und verträumtesten in der Region Bali am türkisblauem Meer.

Mushroom Beach mit lebendiger touristischer Infrastruktur sowie Fähre nach Bali und Nusa Penida

Eine Besonderheit ist der ebenfalls in der Nähe gelegene Mushroom Beach: Hier finden sich einerseits kleine Hotels für Erholungsuchende und andererseits wegen der Fähren nach Bali und Nusa Penida zahlreiche Bars, Restaurants und Shops.

Infos und Weblinks über Nusa Lembongan zum Weiterlesen

Fazit – Nusa Lembongan als Natur- und Schnorchelparadie

Nusa Lembongan als Teil einer kleinen Inselgruppe vor der Südostküste von Bali ist mit der Fähre gut zu erreichen und bietet entspannten und stressfreien Urlaub.

Ob auf einer Tour durch die weitläufigen Mangrovenwälder im Nordosten oder zum Relaxen am Strand und Schnorcheln an der Westküste, die kleine Insel mit ihren rund 5.000 Einwohnern wirkt immer entspannt und ist von der Atmosphäre her insgesamt etwas ruhiger als die Hauptinsel.

Unkompliziertes, familiäres Bali mit australischen Einflüssen

Der Einfluss des nahen Australiens ist auf Nusa Lembongan sowohl bei Flora und Fauna als auch in den kleinen, familiär und entspannt wirkenden Hotelanlagen spürbar.

Wer das andere, unkomplizierte Bali kennenlernen möchte, ist hier gut aufgehoben. Auch Insel-Hopping von Bali und zurück sowie zu den Nachbarinseln Nusa Penida und Nusa Ceningan ist hier möglich.

Hinterlasse jetzt einen Kommentar

Kommentar hinterlassen